St Kilda Repair Cafe

Repairing goods, sharing skills & knowledge, reducing landfill & household spend, while celebrating community

Become a volunteer fixer/mender  


Progress to date – as at January 2021

Since November 2017:

No. of items fixed No. “almost fixed” (need parts) Saved from landfill
430 121 1131 kg

On average, our fixers and menders have fixed or ‘almost fixed’ two out of every three items brought in and saved over a tonne of items from landfill!

If you’re interested in helping keep the St Kilda Repair Cafe up and running, or if you have any other questions about it, please contact John Hillel:

– by phone 9807 9653

– by email  stkilda.repaircafe@gmail.com

– or fill in the form on our Get involved page.

Please note: 

All our fixers are VOLUNTEERS, and there is no charge made for the fixes they do. However any donations people would like to make are welcomed to help us cover our costs (website, glues & other materials used from time to time.)

Where we are

When do our Repair Cafes happen?

Our Repair Cafes are (usually!) held on the second Sunday of every month from March to December, 2-5 pm, but in 2021 we started in January and have another one scheduled for 14th February.

This year’s Repair Cafe dates:

*******      News flash!!!!    *******

St Kilda Repair Cafe has  reopened (with COVID-safe precautions)! 

Next session: Sunday 14 February 2-5pm.

Masks, COVID sign-in & social distancing will be required.

******************************************

Future planned dates:

Sunday 14th February 2021

Sunday 14th March

Sunday 11th April

Sunday 9th May

Sunday 13th June

Sunday 11th July

Sunday 8th August

Sunday 12th September

Sunday 10th October

Sunday 14th November

Sunday 12th December

+ more (COVID permitting!)

===============================

See this website for information about where you can take items for reuse/repurposing/recycling.